Head of School Search

On March 12, 2019, Dr. Patricia T. Hayot, the sixth Head of School in Chapin’s 118-year history, announced her plans to retire in June of 2020 after serving for what will be 17 years. With this announcement, Chapin’s Board of Trustees commenced a search for the next Head of School.

The School’s Succession Committee will partner with the executive search firm Spencer Stuart to conduct this extensive search. This process requires a high degree of confidentiality but, we will share information when appropriate.

Below, please find copies of letters written to the Chapin Community by both Head of School Patricia Hayot and Board Chair LeeAnn Black.

You will also find more information about the Search process.

We will use this page to keep our community up to date on our search for Chapin’s new Head of School.

The Search Process

The Chapin School Succession Committee, working in tandem with Spencer Stuart in this search process, welcomes questions, nominations or expressions of interest. To contact the Committee, please send an email to ChapinHOS@spencerstuart.com.

Position Specification

Please click HERE for a copy of the Head of School Position Specification.

Succession Committee Members

LeeAnn Black, Chair, Board of Trustees

Alexa Bator Chae ’90, Trustee

James H. Clark, Trustee

Stephanie Coleman ’95, Trustee

Lynette Engel, Middle School Faculty Member

Brian Higgins, Trustee

Beth Kojima, Trustee

Kim Karetsky Krinsky ’95, Trustee ex officio and President, Alumnae Association

Joanna McClure, Trustee ex officio and Chair, Parents' Association

Clarence Mitchell, Trustee

M.J. Quigley, Associate Head of School

Linda Gosden Robinson, Trustee

Russell Silverman, Upper School Faculty Member

Leia Yongvanich, Lower School Faculty Member

Student member/s to be announced